A lesson about compassion

I received more comments on one of my last few posts on this blog than all the comments added up in the entire time this blog existed. Many of the comments are emotional, strongly-worded and honestly, a few of them quite scary. (Go read them – the articles posted in April)

I read them all, no matter how difficult it was to take in the words. For the first time in my life, I am present to what it is like to be a Singaporean in a sea of “foreign talent”.

It doesn’t matter if the comments are valid or not. I am not interested in being right and proving others wrong. I am thankful for them; those who bothered to speak up have taught me something very powerful: compassion.

I am beginning to get a sense of the world of a Singaporean who views foreigners (talent or not) as a unwelcome infringement of the Singapore life. The frustrations, the anger, the pain, the helplessness, the resignation. I sense them all in the words some of you chose to leave behind.

I really get that what I say is not as important as what the listener heard i.e. his interpretation of what I said. Someone who is angry and in pain will only hear things that feed his anger and pain.

To all the folks who left your print on my blog, I want you to know I hear you. I really do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

