Superwoman me!

Each Monday I spend about an hour in the morning reviewing my schedule.  Most of it I spend planning my working hours, getting present to what I have to accomplish in the immediate two-three weeks and setting aside time to do what I need to do in order to accomplish what I want to accomplish. (Ya, just having a goal does not mean it will miraculously happen.) Then there are other things like after-work private time, family time, personal trips and other private pursuits.

My schedule is super packed for 2010. I have good clarity about how I will be spending my time for the rest of the year.  (No, I am not kidding.) Each time I see my schedule, I am amazed by how hard I work my daily 24 hours. I am amazed how hard I push myself everyday. Yet I do not experience stress. What I experience now is my life has expanded, time has expanded. I have the same 24 hours as do everyone else yet sometimes I feel like I have more. I am amazed by how much I end up doing these days.  I have become the superwoman I have always aimed to be without even trying.

NO, I am not bragging about how productive I have become. In fact, I am very humbled. God has shown me a way to use my life to make a difference to people in my life (including myself). When my life focuses less and less on me, myself and I, it goes through a transformation. It expands beyond what I thought I was capable of handling; it opens up so many opportunities in my life that were not available in the past.  I feel like I am more alive, more powerful than ever and more ready to make a contribution to humanity. Inspite of a fully-packed schedule, I feel peace, an unmistakable sense of fulfillment.

I am fully present to the fact that I do not need to be perfect in order to make a difference in this world. Perfection is a fallacy, a function of agreement of the society we live in. What is the perfect human being?

God made us imperfect for a reason; I didn’t see that until very recently. I have, for the longest time in my life, pursued perfection to dire consequences. I sought perfection as if it was the ultimate key to release my hidden potential. It was something that I would someday achieve, this state of perfection. Until then, I am not worthy.

I finally realised that I have always had that key in my hand. Right there. All I have to do is to release my grip and there it is. I was, always have been, my biggest enemy.

I don’t have to wait for perfection to find me before I begin the journey of contribution.  There is no where I need to get to, no one specific way I have to be or become before I start making a difference to someone. I can do it right now, with all my imperfections in full glory.

I don’t have to be superwoman to live an extraordinary life. I am a simple person. I carry with me God-given talents, skills and flaws and I make the best of what I have and this life, not to my own enjoyment and self-gratification but hoping that whatever it is I say and do, I will touch someone’s life.

Thank you Pamela, for driving home this message for me. For sharing with me how I had unknowingly made a difference to you in your life. I was not aware I had that ability. Afterall, at that time, I was not in my finest moment. Thank you for empowering me to be the best person I can be every moment of my life.

2 Comments

Filed under Live. Life.

2 responses to “Superwoman me!

  1. Pamela

    Thank you, for shining your light in my life, and giving me the chance to thank you on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

