A time for courage

Wisdom in one para. Thank you Maya, this is too good to be kept a secret.

Courage is the most important of all the virtues, because without courage you can’t practice any other virtues consistently. You can’t be consistently kind or fair or humane or generous, not without courage, because if you don’t have it, sooner or later you will stop and say, “The threat is too much. The difficulty is too high. The challenge is too great.” ~ Maya Angelou

Courage is the ability to take action in the face of our fears – that’s my mantra these days. By making a conscious effort to keep that in existence in my life, it has shifted the way I approach life. I find myself paying less and less attention to my reasons and excuses for not doing some things; more and more I am taking actions as and when I think they have a chance of making a difference.

A subtle shift in the way I see my life has given me access to a whole new way of living and the way I relate to myself and the human race. At the fundamental level, I now enjoy the freedom to be with my own humanity, to begin to understand what it means to be a ‘human being’ as opposed to a walking corpse trying to survive my time on earth in one piece.

At a broader level, I see that there is no gap between Joanne and the world out there. We are one of the same. The world now as we know it is falling apart because of the many individuals inside of it that are driven by greed, hatred, selfishness, etc. One huge mess of misaligned intentions and motivations.

It all starts with the individual. If I take responsibility for the way I live my life and the impact it has on the world I am in, I can begin to make a difference. It’s simple math and all of us, at one level or another, know this to be true. Now is the time to turn knowledge into action.

Now is the time for courage.

Leave a comment

Filed under Live. Life.

Leave a Reply

