It’s not a coincidence

I did not deliberately set aside the week to catch up with friends but as things turned out, I am spending three out of five weekday nights with friends this week.

Last night, I caught up with an old friend whom I have not seen for a decade. In the past 10 years, we did not deliberately stay out of each other’s way; neither did we try to get in touch with each other. Last year, we ran into each other at a friendly gathering of cycling enthusiasts. My husband and he are part of the same cycling group; I had no clue until the gathering… Amazingly, we share the same wedding anniversary date; I got married in Singapore and he got married in his hometown in Mauritius on the same day. That’s unreal. I mean what are the chances of two friends that have lost touch for 10 years getting married in two different parts of the world on the same day???

Tonight I am meeting a group of girlfriends whom I got to know through a fitness program in the past year or so. We first bonded through pain and torture, supporting each other through countless burpees, push-ups, squats and whatever crap we put our bodies through at least twice a week (sometimes thrice); then through more get-to-know-each-other sessions that involved no-sugar meal plans, durians, crabs and lots more food. I’ve stopped attending the program since August last year but the friendships lived on. Tonight, we are going to pig out together at Ah Yat Seafood at Turf City – 50% discount on fresh seafood!!!

Come Thursday, I am meeting a group of ex colleagues. We lovingly call ourselves the GH alumni. For some of us, we are seeing each other for the first time in 6-7 years. I sometimes thought of them, wondered what they were doing and where they were. I now wonder if they thought of me too during those times?

Some people dismiss the notion of a parallel universe as science fiction. I am astounded by God’s attention to detail. There is no such a thing as a coincidence. Coincidences are episodes in our lives we explain away when we do not have God’s master vision.

Thank you God for teaching me to appreciate the finer things in life, by reminding me that this is what life is about. To live every moment to the best of my ability and being the best person I can be. You will take care of the rest. Thank you for these incredible friendships. I love my life!

2 Comments

Filed under Family & Friends, Live. Life.

2 responses to “It’s not a coincidence

  1. Karine

    Good day, Pussy footsteps- Don’t mind me saying so, but you do seem like the kind of person who is obsessive, conceited even. Perhaps you should focus on your real strengths, because you come across as someone pretending to be confident; but in fact insecure. And from your so-called diet plan with your girlfriends, I can imagine you really need it.
    Just my two-cents worth.
    Cheerio!

    • Hi Karine, thank you for your note. Your comment is exactly what I have been waiting for – someone to tell me straight up how my writing comes across. Now I see that I have some work to do and u have pointed me to a direction. You may never see this reply but in case you do, thank you!

Leave a Reply

