To twit or not to twit?

“Hey Jo, now that you have started a blog, you should twitter too.” A very good friend of mine, Desmond, said to me during lunch yesterday. At my request, he proceeded to show me what it is on his iPhone. Interesting.

Now that the seed is planted in my head, I can’t get rid of it. By the end of the day, I posted on my FB I wonder how many of my friends are on twitter too… Keo, my photography buddy and soul mate, said “U have time to go on fb, twitter, flickr and write a blog?? And.. Er u work as well.. Best not have children!!”

I laughed out loud on her remark. After my laughter subsided, I started to think about Twitter more seriously.

When twitter first came into being, another friend of mine suggested I use it since I update my FB status often. At that time I resisted the idea as I was only beginning to get comfortable with FB and didn’t want to jump onto the twitter bandwagon just because it seemed to be the most in thing. (Ahem, that’s the rebel in me speaking.)

I enjoy spending time on FB simply to be in touch with friends. It has, indeed, brought me closer to many people whom I would otherwise not be; especially not if I rely on myself to contact the folks.

Then I started to write more than a few short sentences on FB, posting thoughts and ramblings onto the notes section and sharing photo albums. I started a blog at the end of last year. I am in the process of sorting out my flickr space and possibly, creating a photoblog.

Yes, I recognize that maintaining all these would take time. I also recognize that time is finite and once I have kids, my time is very likely to not be mine anymore. Yes, I am sure my priorities would shift when kids are in the picture. However, I disagree that I necessarily have to stop my self-expression. In fact, I can see how these social platforms could give me the space to continue my self-expression without crowding out time.

I understand why Desmond suggested I twitter (or is it I twit?). Twitter allows me to reach a wider audience than I have right now on FB or my new blog or my life. It is a space of infinite possibilities.

This brings me back to the purpose I started a blog and getting into bed with these ‘things’. I want to make a difference to the human race by sharing my experiences, using God’s gift to me (the ability to express myself in words). Flickr and my photo blog are conceived to complement this blog – I want to share myself with this world, inside of the space to contribute to others. Photos to me are but another way of expressing my thoughts, emotions and experiences.

I am not trying to be noble; I just want to give that innate desire in me to contribute to mankind a place to just be. Like an extension of me, beyond me. I am not going down this road for me to feel good about myself, although undoubtedly I do get a huge sense of satisfaction whenever I get feedback I have made a difference, no matter how small.

It all makes sense in this little head of mine – I exist for a reason and while I do not know the totality of God’s plans for me, I am at peace with this whole experiment and I am willing to let God work his miracles through me.

I dunno where this will bring me. I am aware that I could be biting off more than I can chew. I recognize that it could bring me joy and satisfaction as well as frustrations and potentially other problems. I’m willing to give it a shot and just enjoy the process of growing and discovery.

Whatever it could evolve into, I will deal with it when I come to it. I don’t see twitter as yet another thing to do in my life if I choose to take it on; it is a means to an end, the end being reaching out to as many people as I can with my word and leave the rest to God.

2 Comments

Filed under Family & Friends, Live. Life.

2 responses to “To twit or not to twit?

  1. Emril

    Go for it love! Make technology work for you!

  2. your support is a boost of confidence to me dear. muaks!

Leave a Reply

