Tired of waiting

I’m struggling to put down what’s on my mind today. Not coming from something is wrong or I am disturbed. I simply have a lot I want to say and I am not sure where to start. I decided to just start typing.

It scares me to see so many people conduct their lives with a ‘someday’ mentality. There is a complete lack of urgency in dealing with what matters to us. We don’t get that there is only NOW to take action.  Instead, we spend most of our time coming up with reasons, excuses and justifications to delay/postpone taking actions.  The best is worth waiting for. Patience is virtue. What is meant to be, will be. This is not a priority right now. I have more important things to deal with. Familiar?

At times, we proudly declare we are slaves to circumstances. I want a job but nobody is hiring. I want to get married but I don’t have a boyfriend. I want to go on a holiday with my family but I can’t take leave at work. We pretend we are powerless, unwilling and unable to influence the way our lives are shaped. So we wait.

We wait for circumstances to improve, to be more conducive, to be less challenging. We wait for time to pass so that whatever it is we cannot and do not want to deal with right now will miraculously disappear. We wait for the stars to align. We wait for someone to clear the path forward, to come up with solutions to the problems we face; we wait for an angel. We wait for the light bulb moment to hit us. We wait for Lady Luck to smile upon us. We wait for deliverance.

We wait.

The fact is we only have NOW to do something about anything. Moment by moment we make choices and in a blink of an eye, it becomes the past. Done. No amount of positive talk, good intentions or ingenious ideas can change what’s already happened. We live with the consequences of our choices every moment of our lives.

Yet we choose to wait. We wait for better things to come, wait for things to fall into place. Is there REALLY a conclusive, deterministic end to this waiting? The way I see it, only death is final and conclusive.

Waiting is tantamount to admitting that whatever it is we are living in – this thing we call our lives – is NOT it. There is always something better out there and we behave like our best chance is to wait for it. This current life we are living in, is a pretend life at best. We pretend we are a breathing, living human being. But wait, our REAL lives, our destinies, are somewhere out there.

I am tired of waiting. I see clearly that if I take action NOW and take responsibility for how my life turns out, I have the power to determine the course of my life, as I want it. Do you see it too?

2 Comments

Filed under Live. Life.

2 responses to “Tired of waiting

  1. excellent now give it away, give it away now…

Leave a Reply

