I know.

Posted on Facebook on May 26, 2009 @ 10:45

Knowing something or someone is a very comfortable state to be in.

‘I know’ is in itself acceptance, acknowledgement, understanding, empathy, sympathy, arrogance, resignation, boredom, confidence, strength, pain, disdain, contempt, complacency, happiness, content, predictability, etc. I know. Simple words that could end up in so many places, depending on where I am coming from.

When I know someone or something, I take comfort in familiarity. Familiarity breeds contempt. It’s a fine line. I am reminded last night in class never to lose my sense of wonder and curiosity. Get too comfortable and familiar – or doing everything you can to resist change – could leave you feeling empty and shortchanged.

Is it a surprise some marriages deteriorate into a blur of routine chores? How many of us complain that our lives are too predictable? And once in a while, we look desperately for inspiration to spice things up?

Life is a world of continuous discovery – so are all the relationships that run in this universe. I told my husband last night I don’t want to KNOW him – I am committed to our marriage being a world of continuous discovery.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. There is nothing wrong with being comfortable. However, for me, I say: let the journey begin!

Leave a comment

Filed under Live. Life.

Leave a Reply

